TX Sportz - шаблон joomla Окна

Article Leaderboard

RACE REPORT: Anaheim 1 Monster Energy Supercross

Written by Kurt Schellenberger
Photos by: Matt Rice

Anaheim, CA (January 3, 2015) – Monster Energy Supercross hosted its opening night of action at Angel Stadium, in Anaheim, CA on Saturday. After qualifying practice, the time were tight with only two seconds separating the top twenty riders. Unfortunately, in one of the most stacked fields in racing history, one suffered a season ending injury before the first gate drop. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Wil Hahn suffered multiple injuries in a horrible crash during the early laps of the second afternoon practice.

250 Heat One

Back to racing Supercross after a hiatus, Josh Hanson had the early lead and led for 4 laps. Malcolm Stewart got into Justin Hill’s rear tire and falls on the first lap. Hill caught Hanson and took over the lead with a clean pass with two laps to go and takes the rest to the checkered flag. The top 3 were Hill, Hanson, and Zachary Bell.

250 Heat Two

Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM’s Jessy Nelson was the holehot winner but quickly lost the lead to Geico Honda’s Matthew Bisceglia. Monster Energy /Pro Circuit/Kawaski’s Tyler Bowers began to put the pressure on Bisceglia on lap two before Bisceglia cartwheeled at the end of the third baseline whoop section. Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne and Cooper Webb grabbed on Bowers’ rear fender. Osborne passed Bowers on the inside of the turn before the third baseline triple, and the multi-time Arenacross Champion did not like it. Osborne blocked Bowers in the next corner and Bowers sent the Osborne off the track. The action continued with Nelson and Webb. Nelson made an aggressive pass on Webb that sent the Yamalude/Star Racing/Yamaha rider to the floor. Webb was able to salvage third, behind Bowers and Nelson. Osborne headed to the LCQ where he claimed the win over Stewart and Darryn Durham.

250 Main Event

It was all Jessy Nelson from start to finish. The Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM pilot grabbed the holeshot and ran off with the race win with a 6.45 second gap over second place finisher, Zach Osborne. Tyler Bowers followed in for third after a sixth place start.

250 Main Event Results
1. Jessy Nelson
2. Zach Osborne
3. Tyler Bowers
4. Justin Hill
5. Aaron Plessinger
6. Shane McElrath
7. Cooper Webb
8. Alex Martin
9. Josh Hansen
10. Michael Leib
11. Zach Bell
12. Scott Champion
13. Matt Bisceglia
14. Tommy Hahn
15. Trevor Reis
16. Nico Izzi
17. Austin Politettli
18. Ryan Breece
19. Zack Freeberg
20. Cole Martinez
21. Darryn Durham
22. Malcolm Stewart

450 Heat 1

Holeshot goes to who other than, Mike Alessi? No it was Andrew Short who burst out of the gate and led all 6 laps. It was Shot’s first heat win since 2010. Ken Roczen passed Alessi and lap two for second and went to work on Short. However, Short held off last year’s opening round winner all the way to the last lap. Ryan Dungey settled in for third.

450 Heat 2

Justin Brayton gets the holeshot but Davi Millsaps wasted no time and took advantage of Brayton’s mistake in the long rhythm section on the first base line on lap one. A three-way battle for second brewed between Eli Tomac, Trey Canard, and Brayton. Tomac prevailed and went on to battle Millsaps on the third lap. Once Tomac got by Millsaps he stretched out a 4-5 bike lengh lead for the heat win. Canard passed Millsaps with two laps to go for second and Millsaps settled for third.

450 Main Event

In the 450 Main, where it all counts, banging bars and fighting to get the holeshot was who other than the holeshot king, Mike Alessi. Andrew Short and Ken Roczen took the lead away in turn two and like in the Straight Rhythm fashion, Roczen won that battle going into turn three. Roczen began to put in quick laps to distance himself from the rest of the field and eventually took the checkers for his second-straight season opener at Anahiem. Anderson wasted no time on Short to take over second but had nothing to reel in Roczen.


Perhaps the most impressive ride goes to the veteran, Andrew Short. Short did not make many top three picks in any fan pool. Although he did not finish in the top three, he spent much of the main in third until he was eventually passed by his teammate Canard and later on by Dungey with two laps to go and that put him in fifth place.

Favorites for the main event win, Davi Millsaps and Eli Tomac had their issues. Millsaps was up front early in the race, but as series of mistakes gave him ninetieth for the night. Tomac finished a disappointing twentieth after a couple crashes cost him a virtuous night.


450 Main Event Results
1. Ken Roczen
2. Jason Anderson
3. Trey Canard
4. Ryan Dungey
5. Andrew Short
6. Justin Barcia
7. Weston Peick
8. Broc Tickle
9. Mike Alessi
10. Chad Reed
11. Jake Weimer
12. Blake Baggett
13. Justin Brayton
14. Cole Seely
15. Dean Wilson
16. Josh Hill
17. Brett Metcalfe
18. Josh Grant
19. Davi Millsaps
20. Eli Tomac
21. Kyle Partridge
22. Tevin Tapia

e-max.it: your social media marketing partner